





# 4<sup>th</sup> European Education Conference **"The New European School – Digital Literacy inside?"**

## CALL FOR PAPERS

The 4th thematic ecoMEDIAeurope Conference (May 14 - 17, 2009) and eTwinning Contact Seminar (May 11 - 13, 2009) is going to be held in Limburg (BE). Conference topic: "The New European School - Digital Literacy inside?" http://www.ecomedia-europe.net

## Overview

EcoMedia-Europe is an educational Socrates-Comenius Network co-financed by the European Commission. The main thematic area of the network is the strategic development of ICT and media based education in the field of Comenius. Furthermore the network works on three different but well complemented sub-themes linked to SOCRATES-COMENIUS:

- ICT Basics (Videoconferencing, communication- and presentation technologies, ICT based language learning, new knowledge-based European society and more)
- Media (Media literacy, Life long learning in the media society, Virtual Communities, Media research)
- ICT Prospects (e-learning, E-Government in school organisation, SchoolNets, e-twinning, e-participation)

The network is designed in order to include 22 institutions from 18 different European countries as formal network partners but moreover ecoMEDIAeurope has a large number of associated network members.

## **Topics: ICT related to:**

- E-Learning and Blended learning
- ICT and special needs
- Innovation in education
- Mobile Learning
- Serious Games

## Venue

The conference will be held at the Limburg Catholic University College (KHLim), which is located in Diepenbeek, in the East of Belgium, near the German and Dutch border and fourty kilometers from Liège, the french speaking part of Belgium. The social activities of the conference will include a visit to Bokrijk to an open air museum.

## **Keynote Speakers**

Dr. Michael Wagner, Danube University Krems Mrs. Odette Vanlaer, Limburg Catholic University College Mr. Paul Bottelbergs, mediafilosopher and VRT-producer



## National Organizing Committee Chair

[ED+ict], *Education and ICT*, research unit of the teacher training department of the Limburg Catholic University College Contact: Dries Palmaers (dries.palmaers@khlim.be)

#### Paper submission

Authors are requested to initially submit an extended abstract (1000 words). Authors of accepted submissions as well as of invited papers are requested to submit full papers of 4 to 6 pages (including graphics, tables and references). Abstracts and papers must be submitted electronically in open office or word format to the following e-mail address: <u>dries.palmaers@khlim.be</u>. Please see http://www.ecomedia-europe.net for further submission details.

#### **Important Dates**

- Submission of Abstract
- Notification of Acceptance
- Author Registration Deadline
- Camera-Ready Papers
- ecoMEDIAeurope-conference 2009:

## **Scientific Programme Committee**

Valère Awouters (Chair), Limburg Catholic University College (BE) Erwin Bratengeyer (Co-Chair), Danube University Krems, AT Agnis Andžāns, The University of Latvia, LV Aleksandra Malec, Foundation "Serce Szkole", PL Alenka Adamic, The National Education Institute, SI Alexandru Lautaru, I.G. Duca General Primary School, RO Anna-Lena Öhman, Adult Eduction Centre Dalsland, SE Edite Liekmane, Saldus District Council, LV Esko Kuittinen, University of Helsinki (FI) Eva Rehakova, Apprentice Training Center Frydek-Mistek, CZ Georgeta Chirlesan, University of Pitesti, RO Georgios Efstathiou, Upper Secondary School Trikala, GR Gerhard Schwed, Danube University Krems, AT Hans Christian Knudsen, FREDBERG, DK Herbert Eile, Regional School Board Wolfsberg, AT Jacqueline Matthews, Dunleer Post Primary School, IE Katarina Grgec, Grammar School Oroslavje (HR) Kosta Boshnakov, Univ. of Chemical Technology and Metallurgy, BG Kurt Kohn, University of Tuebingen, DE Laine Bluma, Educational Board of District Saldus, LV María Sanz Hernández, MT Training Services, ES Monica Bosman, Adult Eduction Centre Dalsland, SE Monika Szentpály-Juhász, Pápa Reformed College, HU Nevenka Štraser, The National Education Institute, SI Pascal Cuisant, Ain's Guild Chamber, FR Patrizia Serafini, Istituto Comprensivo "Da Vinci-Ungaretti", IT Peter Fabian, University of Zilina, SK Peter Stauber, Trans European Municipality Association, AT Piotr Fast, University College of Foreign Languages Czestochowa, PL Ruben Jans, Limburg Catholic University College (BE) Salvatore Calderaro, Commerical Academy F.P. Merendino, IT Sebastiaan Jans, Limburg Catholic University College (BE) Thomas Daxkobler, Regional School Board Wolfsberg, AT Thomas Haudej, Province Education Authority Carinthia. AT Ulrike Höbarth, Province Education Authority Lower Austria, AT Valya Nencheva, School 127 I.Denkoglu, BG

- 15 February 2009
- 01 Marcch 2009 31 March 2009
- 15 April 2009
- 14-17 May 2009